Almera GTi Performance Upgrade options...

Hi,

Newbie here, so apologies for some dumb questions, ive done a search for the information that im trying to obtain, with some success, but get a little lost with some of the terminology / acronyms!

I dont actually own an almera yet, but am seriously considering getting one, with the view to improve its performance over time, and as funds dictate.

I would want to turbo it at some point, and im just trying to figure out what my options are, and also what option may give the best bang for the buck (I dont have a money tree unfortunately!!)

I see these possible options

1) SR20DE+T
Basically, adding a turbo to my current engine and running low boost (about 7 psi?) and being done with it (I realise there is more involved, but im just trying to summarise)

2) SR20DE+T with uprated internals
Same as option one, but using forged rods/pistons and arp bolts etc..

3) SR20DET
Complete SR20DET engine transplant

4) SR20VET
Complete SR20VET transplant (I THINK these are quite hard to come by though ?)

5) SR20VE+T
SR20VE with turbo bolted on

6) SR20DVET (Dont know what to call it! lol)
SR20DE(T) block with SR20VE Head and turbo charged

I think the ideal option is option 4 (SR20VET Transplant), as I am led to believe that is a better block (dont know why, apart from oil squirters?), and obviously its got the neo vvl head too. However, im unsure of how available these are (in the uk), and as to what sort of money they fetch, and also what sort of boost / power the stock internals of the engine can handle.

I think the option that seems most realistic to me though is a hybrid of option 2 and option 5, ie a DE block with uprated internals and a VE head, as I would think this would be good bang for buck, however im not sure if the VE head is a simple bolt on to the DE block or not, and also if the exhaust manifolds match.