hi and can you help?

Hi there, I'm a newbie here. Me and my partner have just moved into a country cottage, and part of the deal was that the other half got our landlady's almera. our landlady has been a close friend for some time now, and I have been doing any work that's been needing done. one of the jobs that i did last year was changing the stretched timing chain.

as my car is in at the bodyshop just now after someone reversed a van into it, i have been driving the almera to work and have noticed several problems with the engine. Firstly it is using loads of petrol. secondly there is no power. i haven't driven anything less than 2 litres for a while, but even then, my work van seems to have more get-up and go. thirdly it loses pwer randomly while cruising, and also in general driving. going up the motorway this morning I was getting overtaken by artics on the hills. I was travelling along at 70 when the power just went, as if i had taken my foot off the throttle, i'd lose 5-10mph, then it took ages to get back to 70 again. it kept doing this randomly for the whole journey, and hasn't improved since. when driving around the town, the revs just weren't coming up at all and i was stuck at about 5 mph in first trying to get out of a junction with a car coming towards me really fast! even when i'd dipped the clutch and floored the throttle, it was still about 10 seconds before the revs came up.