New Nissan owner

I’ve had many cars over the years but this is my very first Nissan. An Almera S. Very unassuming , it was cheap but my plan is to look after it so that it rewards me with something more than a cheap runabout.

Its not fast and I don’t want it to be, but I would like it to be reliable and that’s down to me.

Obviously the first thing is a fluid and filter change. I’m a home mechanic rather than a garage, so I know a little about an engine bay, having serviced my Z3 for 6 years and which has always passed an MOT. I also don’t mind getting underneath the car if necessary having changed suspension parts and polybushed various cars in my ownership. I’ve also learned how to do basic mig welding.

Any pointers on the Almera is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Hi,

Is this an N15 (1995 to 2000) model or N16 (2000 to 2005)? I'm assuming it's a N16 since the majority of N15 cars have turned to rust probably by now.
I'm just going to ramble what I can remember off the top of my head:

Drivetrain stuff:
If 1.5 engine: Listen for gearbox noises, they have weak bearings. If it sounds and acts normal, immediately do a fluid change on the box and tilt the car so you can add a couple hundred ml more fluid than it takes when level. Downshift to 4th gear if engine speed drops below 2000 rpm when using 5th.
If 1.8 engine: watch out for oil consumption. Could be stuck piston oil rings or out of round cylinder. (Or the square little seal under the valve cover if vc gasket has been changed and its' not been replaced at the same time)

If oil consumption seems high, it has a snowball effect; first the front catalytic converter (in the exhaust manifold) clogs up, then eventually exhaust valves might burn out.
Quite typical for the front cat to clog up or break up anyway.