bit of advice needed

hiya peeps newbie here , just aquired my mates s reg gti ( ph1 i think ? ) for peanuts , it used to be his pride and joy a while back and WAS immaculate , but ..... about 3 years ago it got took off the road and stood where it was till i came along and ofered to take it off his hands yday .
its the first time ive seen it in years and tbh its gone down hill , what i want to ask is ...is it worth restoring or is it worth a few quid in spares ???? heres basic run down of its condition >>
was MOTd in an attempt to use it again but never did heres what went on >>>
new susp all round / lowering springs
new discs and pads all round
cat back stainless ( £500 at the time )
brand new clutch
2 new front tyres

it has just done over 100k , started first time yday

interior was mint but now a little mouldy

now the bodywork ....( black well used to be lol )
front bumper is damaged a lot from drivin by on his m/bike and pulling it off from the wing ( repairable i think )
nearside wing creased
offside wing has rust coming from a scratch
doors have a couple of dints etc
rear arches have signs of rust on its way
overall its very faded but a good t-cut will cheer me up i think

whats ur thought guys ? i would love to keep this cos it was treasured when running and was rapid ...

open to suggestions / offers / or may be interested in panals etc ???

cheers

you could make some decent money from breaking it, but if you don't mind the few cosmetic things and are willing to work on sorting them, i'd say definitely keep it.

100k isn't bad for a well looked after sr20 engine.

And if it has a long MOT the rust can't have really started yet so you can nip that in the bud before it gets nasty and structural.

Sounds like it just needs a bit of tlc to restore it to a cracking, cheap car - what with New sus and discs etc.

could be awesome mate. get some pics up ;)