More accelaration

Hi guys, Im new to almeras only owning 1 for 8 months. Its a phase 1 GTI and only done 50000 miles from new although no paperwork to prove this but its been family owned for 13 years and very well looked after. It has a few mods which are a stainless manifold downpipe and cat back janspeed exhaust, 17 inch rims, sports lowering springs, uprated plugs and leads and an after market induction kit. Is there any way to get it to accelarate quicker as im pi55ed off with my mate in his type R civic getting the better of me at the lights ! Im on a budget but heard you can turbo them for under £1500 Is this true and what is needed ? Or is there other ways to improve throttle response ?
DSCN0001

Favorite on here is stripping the car..

1gnll4.jpg

Loosing the 17'' rims and going back to 15'' stock wheels or ideally forged lightweight 15'' rims would help alot

I know I could strip it out but trying to keep it together as it has sound system and baby seat for family days (bloody kids)
Some say the GTI is a quick car but my wifes 1.0 focus 3 cylinder turbo keeps up with it !

Updated cams.. jwt or tommi cams are good dropins

Or as said turbo...
Mine was done on a budget and is pushing around the 250bhp mark

Allot of it is just bolt on goodies its just the mapping you have to get right and is the most expensive part.

Updated cams.. jwt or tommi cams are good dropins

Or as said turbo...
Mine was done on a budget and is pushing around the 250bhp mark

Allot of it is just bolt on goodies its just the mapping you have to get right and is the most expensive part.

Please tell me more ! Can I use any turbo ? Will I need any other parts ie ECU etc ? Will any other components need uprating ? Im not wanting a race car just be nice to out do a type R or VXR when playing and have a reasonable car for the family

The ugly heavy 17s wont be helping. Increase the timing and clean the MAF. What plugs are you using?