gutless 1.5i se

ok i know its not a gti etc. but surely should have a bit of poke?
seems like it dies when you try to get it to go and definately don't like hills lol :rolleyes:
when i push the throttle down to overtake or accellerate above normal seems like theres nothin there allmost like its being flooded but lift the pedal a bit and you get a bit of power...
I'm new to nissan and its a proper nice motor is the normal... :roll:

oh and the manual says and also on the filler cap use premium unleaded? could putting normal unleaded in be doing this?

cheers
n00b lol

I'd imagine the 1.5's don't have much go, and the n16 isn't a particularly light car, but you'd have to ask a 1.5 owner. The 1.8 just about does enough.

And I think premium unleaded is the regular unleaded, its just their fancy new name for it

Says 95 ron, which is regular unleaded in the UK.

The 1.5 is gutless low down. It doesn't like hills at all. Zero torque.

Keep the needle above 3,500 RPM and you will see it is quite nippy about town / a roads...

lol your right it dont like hills at all...
came out of the services onto the motorway sliproad yesterday which was on an incline and by the time i got to the end i was just doin like 45 >.<

Mass air flow sensor. Sits between the airbox and the throttle body.

Never going to be as quick as a rhonda. lol.

Get an induction kit for it & it`ll perk up abit.

I had a K&N on mine (can`t remember the model now), but it made a nice growl, & certainly made a difference (even with the 17s fitted)! :)

The 1.5 is pretty heavy and seems to be tuned mainly for economy and tootling around town. Mine really didn't like hills, especially on motorways but when driven in the sweet-spot between 4000 and 6000 revs was nippy enough up to about 70 mph.

It pretty much goes to sleep above 70 though, especially on an uphill slope.