Love my Almera but lack of music annoying!

Hello all,

Complete newbie here (and to forums in general). Driven all sorts over the years but needed a cheap diesel last year and my grandfather recommended an Almera (yes, i know!). Went out and got a 2003 2.2 DCI. Absolutely superb machine. A real joy on A roads! It's quick, reliable and comfortable. What more can you ask for for 1200 quid!

My issue is the damn cd players. I've looked around on here and it seems to be an issue. When i bought the car there was already a cd jammed into the standard head unit up front but this wasn't too much of an issue as i had the 6 disc changer up back. Recently, that has started to play up and as all my music is mp3 these days, i wonder if someone with the right knowledge can help me out.

Ideally, i'd like to swap out the changer at front for an aftermarket unit with an aux fitting. I'm handy enough (just) to do things myself with a good guide and realise i would need to do some soldering somewhere along the way.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Type of head unit i need to buy etc?

My dash is the one without the sat nav.

Regards
Greg

Use fm transmitter... thats what i use, i dont use cd as i am playing music through my phone or through usb. Hope this will help.

You can always use a fascia (arround (25~30€) and install a new radio with mp3 from flash drive or SD card...
That's what i'm gonna do when my volume up/down keys finally stop working...

Thanks for the replies. EdisonP- I tried an fm transmitter but found it patchy to be honest. Foxalhao- Do you mean there is a aftermarket fascia i can buy which will suit the dash? If so, do you have a link possibly? Will the connections fit nicely into an aftermarket head unit as i don't have a sat nav on there?

For clarification, this is what the dash looks like

Attachments

• NissanAlmeraHatchbackNew115279200215391.jpg
    NissanAlmeraHatchbackNew115279200215391.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 39